Gilbert Lab is pleased to announce  the Sloan Early Career Workshop from April 26-29 2016

The application form

The link to an application form is at the bottom of this page.

Please review all instructions prior to completing the application form.

Before completing the application form

Selection of participants

Participants will be selected through a competitive application process. The advisory committee will select 30 early career scientists based on the requirements below.

Interested candidates from any of the following disciplines, microbiology, medicine, building science, architecture or design, engineering, and computer science are encouraged to apply.


Applications are available online from October 26 2015 and will close on December 20 2015.

All completed applications must be emailed to by the due date. No late applications will be considered.

Applications must contain the following components:

  1. A completed application form
  2. A two-page CV
  3. Statement of Participation that includes:
  • Reasons for attending this workshop
  • Research background
  • Research goals for the next five years
  • A commitment to participate in the long-term (including participating in workshop questionnaires and evaluations)

Selection criteria

Candidates will be selected based on their contributions and impact of publications, awards/achievements, and public service.

Selected Applicants

All selected applicants will be notified in writing by February 1 2016. Applicants will be sent a letter of invitation, which will explain their travel allowance. All travel expenses including airport transfers, flights, accommodation, and meal stipends (for meals that are not provided) will be reimbursed.


Science Paper 2014

Longitudinal analysis of microbial interaction between humans and the indoor environment
Simon Lax, Daniel P. Smith, Jarrad Hampton-Marcell,Sarah M. Owens, Kim M.Handley, Nicole M. Scott, Sean M. Gibbons, Peter Larsen, Benjamin D.Shogan, Sophie Weiss, Jessica L.Metcal, Luke K. Ursell, Yoshiki Vázquez-Baeza, Will Van Treuren, Nur A. Hasan,Molly K. Gibson,Rita Colwell,Gautam Dantas, Rob Knight, Jack A. Gilbert.

Science paper